News Flash


Posted on: November 3, 2022

Bristol Police Memorial Committee Formed

A Sub Committee, comprised of appointed members from the City and the community, was formed at the special meeting of the Board of Police Commissioners on Wednesday, November 2, 2022. The Police Memorial Committee is tasked with establishing and maintaining a memorial for fallen officers of the Bristol Police Department who have died in the line of duty, and consideration of all possible forms of remembrances for this most recent tragedy. This committee will review the many suggestions that have come from the community to memorialize all the Bristol Police Officers killed in the line of duty to include Lt. Dustin DeMonte and Sgt. Alex Hamzy, who were tragically killed in the line of duty on October 12, 2022.  

“Due to the outpouring of support from our local Bristol Community we felt that it was important to put together a group of individuals to help us determine the best way to memorialize our fallen police officers. Additionally, with funds for the Bristol Police Heroes Fund established by our Police Union we needed to create a connection to the Bristol Police Benevolent Association (PBA), who were working on refurbishing our Police Memorial that was going to be moved prior to this incident as part of our City Hall renovation project.  We now have a group of City Employees, Police Commissioners, and the Police Union that can officially and publicly consider public input and decide how best to work with the PBA to memorialize our brave police,” stated Bristol Mayor Jeff Caggiano.

The Task Force:
Jason Morocco, Project Manager – Bristol Department of Public Works
Josh Medeiros, Superintendent – Parks, Recreation, Youth and Community Services
Chris Hayden, Firefighter – Bristol Fire Department
Edward Krawiecki, Attorney – Corporation Counsel
John Leone – Former Mayor and Police Officer
Jim Pelletier – Bristol Police Union President
Susan Tyler, City Council – Liaison to the Board of Police Commissioners
Paul Lemieux, Commissioner – Bristol Board of Police Commissioners
Chief Brian Gould, Bristol Police Department – Ad Hoc Member
Mayor Jeffrey Caggiano, City of Bristol – Ad Hoc Member

Facebook Twitter Email